Quest Mystery, the world of treasure hunts, games & S.P. Grogan

Tony Hillerman

Anthony Grove Hillerman (May 27, 1925 – October 26, 2008) best known for his mystery novels featuring Navajo Nation Police officers Joe Leaphorn  and Jim Chee. Several of his works have been adapted as theatrical and television movies.

. He wrote more than 30 books total, among them a memoir and books about the Southwest, its beauty, and its history. His literary honors were awarded for his Navajo books. Hillerman's books have been translated into eight languages, among them Danish and Japanese.

Hillerman's writing is noted for the cultural details he provides about his subjects: HopiZuni, European settlers, federal agents, and especially the Navajo Nation Police. His works in nonfiction and in fiction reflect his appreciation of the natural wonders of the American Southwest and his appreciation of its indigenous people, particularly the Navajo. His mystery novels are set in the Four Corners area of New Mexico and Arizona, sometimes reaching into Colorado and Utah, with occasional forays to the big cities of Washington, DC, Los Angeles, and New York City. The protagonists are Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee of the Navajo Nation Police. Lt. Leaphorn was introduced in Hillerman's first novel, The Blessing Way (1970). Sgt. Jim Chee was introduced in the fourth novel, People of Darkness. The two first work together in the seventh novel, Skinwalkers, considered his breakout novel, with a distinct increase in sales with the two police officers working together.

Hillerman is considered one of New Mexico's foremost novelists.

He won and was nominated for numerous awards for his writing and his work with other writers. His first nomination came in 1972, with his novel The Fly on the Wall being nominated for an Edgar Award in the "Best Mystery Novel" category. Two years later his novel Dance Hall of the Dead, second book in the Leaphorn-Chee series, won the 1974 Edgar Award for Best Novel. He was again nominated for the "Best Mystery Novel" Edgar Award in 1979 for Listening Woman and lastly in 1989 for A Thief of Time. Hillerman's non-fictional work Talking Mysteries was nominated in 1992 for the Edgar Award in the "Best Critical or Biographical" category.


Hillerman works  

His daughter, Anne Hillerman, has carried on his legacy by penning a series of novels with characters from Tony’s past works.

See Hillerman works for sale in the QM Store/Shop or on Ebay listed under Seller Doyle778

  1. The Blessing Way(1970); ISBN 0-06-011896-2
  2. Dance Hall of the Dead(1973); ISBN 0-06-011898-9
  3. Listening Woman(1978); ISBN 0-06-011901-2
  4. People of Darkness(1980); ISBN 0-06-011907-1
  5. The Dark Wind(1982); ISBN 0-06-014936-1
  6. The Ghostway(1984); ISBN 0-06-015396-2
  7. Skinwalkers(1986); ISBN 0-06-015695-3
  8. A Thief of Time(1988); ISBN 0-06-015938-3
  9. Talking God(1989); ISBN 0-06-016118-3
  10. Coyote Waits(1990); ISBN 0-06-016370-4
  11. Sacred Clowns(1993); ISBN 0-06-016767-X
  12. The Fallen Man(1996); ISBN 0-06-017773-X
  13. The First Eagle(1998); ISBN 0-06-017581-8
  14. Hunting Badger(1999); ISBN 0-06-019289-5
  15. The Wailing Wind(2002); ISBN 0-06-019444-8
  16. The Sinister Pig(2003); ISBN 0-06-019443-X
  17. Skeleton Man(2004); ISBN 0-06-056344-3
  18. The Shape Shifter(2006); ISBN 978-0-06-056345-5

Don't forget

$2,500 Vegas Die 2.0 Treasure Hunt

Drawing for Signed Novel of Your Choice. 

Sign up for Newsletter